When batter, batter-runner, runner, on-deck batter or coach interference occurs, the ball is dead, someone must be called out, and each other runner must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
Is interference always a dead ball?
5-1-2 It is a delayed dead ball when: there is interference by a batter (Exception 7-3-5 Penalty), When the batter interferes with the catcher attempting to play on a runner, if an out does not result at the end of the catcher’s throw, the ball shall become dead immediately.
Is baseball interference a dead ball?
If batter or base runner intentionally deflects the course of a batted ball (or thrown ball, for that matter), this is interference and the batter or runner is out, ball is dead, and runners return. This applies whether the ball was over fair territory or foul.
Is the ball dead when it hits a runner?
Ball is dead, and batter-runner is awarded first base. The fact that the runner had contact with the base when struck with the batted ball has no bearing on the play. (An exception to this is when the runner is hit by an Infield Fly while on base.) … Batter bunts the ball down the third base line.
What is runner interference in softball?
Batter Runner Interference occurs when the batter runner: ❖ Runs to First outside the three foot lane and interferes with a thrown ball EFFECT: Dead ball; Batter/runner is out; all runners must return to last base touched.
What if a runner gets hit?
As we said, any runner touched by a live batted ball has committed interference and is out. The ball is dead. The batter-runner is awarded first base (unless he is the one touched by the batted ball), and other runners advance only if forced.
What is the difference between interference and obstruction?
One key distinction between interference and obstruction: Interference is defined as a violation of either the offense or the defense; obstruction can only be committed by the defense.
Do runners advance on runner interference?
This same principle applies if there is a run-down between second and third base and succeeding runner has reached second (the reasoning is that no runner shall advance on an interference play and a runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached the next succeeding base).
Can an infielder block a base?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Can a runner hit the catcher?
The new rule, 7.13, states “a runner attempting to score may not deviate from his direct pathway to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher (or other player covering home plate).” A runner violating the rule shall be declared out, even if the fielder drops the ball.
Can a runner touch the ball?
If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball.
What is the rule on runner interference in baseball?
The rule provides that a runner must vacate any space needed by a fielder to make a play on a batted ball, unless the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when the interference occurs. In this case, the runner should not be called out unless the hindrance is intentional.
Is catcher’s interference an error?
Catcher’s interference is considered a delayed dead ball situation, much like a balk. … The catcher is charged with an error however the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat.
What is a passed ball in fastpitch softball?
A catcher is given a passed ball if he cannot hold onto a pitch that — in the official scorer’s judgment — he should have, and as a result at least one runner moves up on the bases. Passed balls have commonality with wild pitches, as both allow a runner to advance on his own without a stolen base.
How is runner interference scored?
Runner Interference–How to score the at bat
Batter hits a ball to the right of the first baseman. Ball gets through and two runs score. Plate umpire calls interference on runner going from first to second. Runners on second and third return to those bases and the batter is awarded first base.
What is fielders interference?
Interference can also be called on the offensive team if a batter hinders the catcher after a third strike when the ball is not caught, a batter intentionally deflects any foul ball, and a baserunner hinders a following play being made on another runner after having scored or been put out.