Who won the 1991 Home Run Derby?

Ripken won the 1991 Home Run Derby at Toronto’s SkyDome, one day before winning MVP of the All-Star Game.

Did Mark McGwire win Home Run Derby?

McGwire, who would eventually set a new single-season home run record with 70 in 1998, won his first and only Derby in ’92. … He was the first player to win the Derby and the All-Star MVP, as well as the first Derby winner to also homer in the All-Star Game.

Did Ryan Howard ever win the Home Run Derby?

A total of 87 home runs were hit in the derby.

2006 Major League Baseball Home Run Derby.

Date July 10, 2006
Winner Ryan Howard
← 2005 Major League Baseball Home Run Derby 2007 →

Who won the 93 Home Run Derby?


Year Winner Team
1993 Juan González Texas Rangers
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. (1) Seattle Mariners
1995 Frank Thomas Chicago White Sox
1996 Barry Bonds San Francisco Giants

Did Cal Ripken win the Home Run Derby?

After playing at Aberdeen High School, Ripken Jr. … One of Ripken’s best years came in 1991 when he was named an All-Star, won the Home Run Derby, and was recipient of his first All-Star Game MVP Award, his second AL MVP Award, and first Gold Glove Award.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How long does it take to clear waivers in MLB?

Who won the 1989 Home Run Derby?

Derby Winners

Year Site Winner
1989 Anaheim Stadium Ruben Sierra
1990 Wrigley Field Ryne Sandberg
1991 SkyDome Cal Ripken
1992 Jack Murphy Stadium Mark McGwire

Did Ken Griffey Jr ever win a home run derby?

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most? Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999). Alonso is the third to win consecutive titles and is one away from tying Griffey.

Where did Chase Utley go to college?

Draft: Drafted by the Los Angeles Dodgers in the 2nd round of the 1997 MLB June Amateur Draft from Polytechnic HS (Long Beach, CA) and the Philadelphia Phillies in the 1st round (15th) of the 2000 MLB June Amateur Draft from University of California, Los Angeles (Los Angeles, CA).

Who won the 2008 Home Run Derby?

Justin Morneau of the Minnesota Twins defeated Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers, 5–3, in the final. In the first round, Hamilton set an MLB record for most home runs in one round of a Derby with 28, hitting 13 of them with eight outs.

Is Ryan Howard a twin?

From all accounts, Howard and his twin brother were inseparable. During high school, they practiced trombone together after school. At Missouri State University, they roomed together. … Howard and his brother had been roommates throughout their lives, and that continued throughout the early part of Howard’s career.

Who won 1990 Home Run Derby?

1990 — Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What was the first baseball card ever made?

Sandberg infamously won the 1990 Derby at Wrigley Field with only three total home runs while the rest of the eight-man field combined for only two home runs.

Who won 2021 Home Run Derby?

Pete Alonso of the New York Mets became the third back-to-back Home Run Derby champion, beating No. 6 seed Trey Mancini in the final. Alonso and his blue-and-orange bat went 6 for 6 in a 28-second stretch to give him 23 homers in the final round after Mancini hit 22 in the thin Rocky Mountain air.

Who won the 2002 Home Run Derby?

Giambi wins 2002 Home Run Derby.