Nor must physical contact occur for interference to be called; a runner may interfere with a fielder simply by hindering the fielder’s ability to attempt to make a play on a batted ball.
Who has right of way runner or fielder?
The protection continues until the fielder makes a play or makes a throw after fielding the ball. From beginning to end of this sequence, the fielder has the right of way and runners must avoid impeding the fielder.
Can a runner make contact with a fielder?
When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called. … runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball.
What happens when a runner interferes with a fielder?
Runner interference includes: 1. A runner or batter-runner who interferes with a fielder executing a play (including the batter-runner touching the white part of double base at first and colliding with the fielder trying to catch a thrown ball from an infielder), 2.
Can a runner stop in front of a fielder?
It is strictly the judgment of the umpire as to whether a violation occurred. Running in front of the fielder MAY BE a distraction, and CAN BE an interference violation. When interference is called the runner is out and all other runners must return to the last base held at the time of the pitch.
Can an infielder block a base?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Can a fielder kick a baseball?
If, in the judgment of the umpires, a fielder intentionally kicks or deflects any batted or thrown ball out of play, the award is two bases from the time the ball was kicked or deflected. … This ruling applies without regard to whether or not the ball would have gone out of play had it not been kicked or deflected.
Can a fielder stand in the baseline?
– Fielders without the ball often stand on a base or in the base path. Doing so does not make them guilty of obstruction. They’re not obstructing unless a runner’s advance or path is altered.
What happens if a fan grabs a fair ball?
The ball becomes dead, and the umpire will award any bases or charge any outs that, in his judgment, would have occurred without the interference. Such interference often occurs when a spectator in the first row of seats reaches onto the field to attempt to grab a fair or foul fly ball.
Is it a dead ball if it hits a runner?
In other words, after a ball has been touched (deflected) by any infielder (including the pitcher), if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), the ball is alive and in play even if another infielder may be in position to field the ball.
What is considered obstruction in baseball?
Definition. Obstruction describes an act by a fielder, who is not in possession of the ball or in the process of fielding it, that impedes the baserunner’s progress.
What score is awarded if a fielder causes an obstruction?
A penalty ½ Rounder is scored for an obstruction by a fielder. A penalty ½ Rounder is scored for 2 consecutive no balls to the same batter. A penalty ½ Rounder is scored by the fielding team if waiting batters or batters out obstruct a fielder.
Can a catcher throw to shortstop?
First and Third – Throw to Shortstop
Instead of firing the ball to second, the catcher will throw the ball to the shortstop. … In addition, by throwing the ball on the third base side of second base, the shortstop is in a position to catch and throw to third if the runner has decided not to go, but is too far off third.
Can you run back towards home plate?
A.R. 3—On a tag play between home plate and first base, a batter-runner may retreat toward home plate to evade a tag, but shall be declared out after touching or passing home plate, or leaving the base line. The ball remains live. Therefore, a runner can back up to just before he would touch home plate.