Your question: What is the Silver Slugger award in baseball?

The Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Awards are the top offensive honor in Major League Baseball ®. Coaches and managers of Major League teams vote for the players they feel are the best offensive producers at each position in the field in both the American and National Leagues.

What is a Silver Slugger Award in MLB?

Given out since 1980, the Silver Slugger recognizes the best offensive players at each position in each league. The winners are voted upon by Major League managers and coaches, who are unable to vote for players on their own teams.   Explore Silver Slugger Awards by Year.

Who has won the most Silver Slugger Awards?

Barry Bonds has won 12 Silver Slugger Awards, the most of any player at any position.

Why is it called Silver Slugger?

At the completion of the 1980 season Hillerich & Bradsby, the maker of Louisville Slugger bats, devised an award — The Silver Slugger Award — to honor the best offensive player at each position.

Who won slugger 2021?

Award season continues to be kind to the 2021 Toronto Blue Jays. In the latest set of Major League Baseball honors, three Blue Jays took home Silver Slugger Awards. Vladimir Guerrero Jr. won the award for American League first basemen, Marcus Semien for AL 2B, and Teoscar Hernández in the outfield.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What was the original name for baseball?

What is Silver Slugger based on?

Silver Slugger Award winners are decided by votes from the manager and three coaches of each MLB team. Votes are based on a combination of statistical production as well as the managers’ and coaches’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.

Who are the Silver Slugger finalists?

Four Dodgers have been named finalists for 2021 Silver Slugger Awards. Max Muncy, Trea Turner, Will Smith and Justin Turner have all been named finalists for the award honoring baseball’s top offensive players — though not all at their primary positions.

Who has the most Gold Gloves as a catcher?

Iván Rodríguez has won the most Gold Gloves at catcher, with 13; all were won with the Texas Rangers or the Detroit Tigers (both American League teams), though Rodríguez has played in both leagues.

Has any pitcher won Silver Slugger?

Mike Hampton has won the most Silver Sluggers as a pitcher, earning five consecutive awards with four different teams from 1999 to 2003. … Rick Rhoden (1984–1986), Don Robinson (1982, 1989–1990), and Carlos Zambrano (2006, 2008–2009) each own three Silver Sluggers.

How many Silver Sluggers are there?

Home run record-holder Barry Bonds won twelve Silver Slugger Awards in his career as an outfielder, the most of any player.

Silver Slugger Award
League Major League Baseball
Awarded for Best offensive player at each position in the American League and National League

Who won the NL Silver Slugger?

NL winner: Fernando Tatis Jr., Padres (second win)

This win gives Tatis two Silver Sluggers, making him one of five players (joining Ronald Acuña Jr., Mike Trout, Fernando Valenzuela and Juan Soto) to win multiple Silver Sluggers before the age of 23 (age as of the last day of the regular season).

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What's the most consecutive home runs in a game?

Who won the MLB Awards 2021?

Shohei Ohtani wins 2021 AL MVP

And having been named the winners of 2021’s Most Valuable Player Awards in the American League and National League, respectively, by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America on Thursday night on MLB Network, they know a bit about living up to it.