Who won the 2016 Home Run Derby?

Who won the 2020 Home Run Derby?

Pete Alonso of the New York Mets became the third back-to-back Home Run Derby champion, beating No. 6 seed Trey Mancini in the final. Alonso and his blue-and-orange bat went 6 for 6 in a 28-second stretch to give him 23 homers in the final round after Mancini hit 22 in the thin Rocky Mountain air.

What was the best Home Run Derby?

Abreu wins 2005 Home Run Derby

Why we remember: If you don’t remember or know about Sosa’s 2002 Derby performance, you have no excuse now. It wasn’t so much the volume of Sosa’s first-round performance at then-Miller Park in Milwaukee (he finished it with 12 homers), but more about where these dingers went.

Who has the most Home Run Derby wins?

Here’s who has won the Home Run Derby in the past. Ken Griffey Jr. is the only hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He also holds the record for the most Home Run Derby wins overall, sitting at three, including 1998 and 1999 when he became the first player to win the event in back-to-back years.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What size is a pitcher?

What does the Home Run Derby winner get?

As part of a multifaceted new agreement between MLB and the MLB Players Association prior to the 2019 season, the Home Run Derby prize pool was increased from $725,000 to $2.5 million. The winner takes home a cool $1 million of that total.

Who won 2021 Home Run Derby?

Mets slugger Pete Alonso retained his Home Run Derby crown, defeating Trey Mancini in the final round on Monday night at Coors Field in Denver. Alonso came out of the gate with a record 35 home runs in the first round and made it look easy, defeating Juan Soto in the semifinals.

What is the longest home run ever hit in a Home Run Derby?

Juan Soto’s 520-foot home run.

What’s the longest home run ever hit?

The Longest Home Run Ever Was So Deep, It Fooled the Camera Man

  • 535 Feet: Adam Dunn (Cincinnati Reds, 2004), Willie Stargell (Pittsburgh Pirates, 1978)
  • 539 Feet: Reggie Jackson (Oakland Athletics, 1971)
  • 565 Feet: Mickey Mantle (New York Yankees, 1953)
  • 575 Feet: Babe Ruth (New York Yankees, 1921)

Who hit the longest home run in Home Run Derby?

Soto hit the longest home run in Home Run Derby history, a 520-foot bomb dinger to the upper deck of Coors Field.

Has there ever been a pitcher in the Home Run Derby?

Has a pitcher ever competed in the Home Run Derby? There has never been a pitcher compete in the Home Run Derby.

Has anyone won the Home Run Derby twice in a row?

This year’s event established a four players per league format. Griffey won his second consecutive Derby crown and third overall.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is basketball better than baseball?

Who has won the HR Derby twice?

10:45 p.m.: Alonso hits each of the first six pitches he sees for home runs to reclaim his title. He is the third batter ever to win the Home Run Derby twice in a row, joining Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99) and Yoenis Cespedes (2013-14). PETE ALONSO WINS IT!

How much does Pete Alonso get paid?

According to Spotrac, from 2019-2021, Alonso has made $1.47 million with the Mets. His salary this season is worth over $676,000.

Do you have to be an all-star to be in the Home Run Derby?

Vladimir Guerrero Jr. … The current overall record is held by Vladimir Guerrero Jr. at a mark of 91, set in 2019. Only three participants, Yoenis Céspedes, Giancarlo Stanton, and Pete Alonso, have won the Home Run Derby without being selected to the All-Star Game.

How much does Pete Alonso make a year?

Estimated Career Earnings

Year Salary Total Cash
2019 $555,000 $555,000
2020 $241,674 $241,674
2021 $676,775 $676,775
Est. Earnings (3 seasons) $1,473,449 $2,382,649