Who won the 1990 Home Run Derby?

Who won the homerun derby in 1990?

1990 — Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs

Sandberg infamously won the 1990 Derby at Wrigley Field with only three total home runs while the rest of the eight-man field combined for only two home runs.

Did Mark McGwire win Home Run Derby?

McGwire, who would eventually set a new single-season home run record with 70 in 1998, won his first and only Derby in ’92. … He was the first player to win the Derby and the All-Star MVP, as well as the first Derby winner to also homer in the All-Star Game.

Did Ryan Howard ever win the Home Run Derby?

Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies defeated David Wright of the New York Mets to be crowned derby champion.

2006 Major League Baseball Home Run Derby.

Date July 10, 2006
Winner Ryan Howard
← 2005 Major League Baseball Home Run Derby 2007 →

Who won the 93 Home Run Derby?


THIS IS INTERESTING:  Should you bunt with bases loaded?
Year Winner Team
1993 Juan González Texas Rangers
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. (1) Seattle Mariners
1995 Frank Thomas Chicago White Sox
1996 Barry Bonds San Francisco Giants

Who won the Home Run Derby 2021?

Mets slugger Pete Alonso retained his Home Run Derby crown, defeating Trey Mancini in the final round on Monday night at Coors Field in Denver. Alonso came out of the gate with a record 35 home runs in the first round and made it look easy, defeating Juan Soto in the semifinals.

Who won 1999 Home Run Derby?

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most? Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999). Alonso is the third to win consecutive titles and is one away from tying Griffey.

Who won the 1989 Home Run Derby?

Derby Winners

Year Site Winner
1989 Anaheim Stadium Ruben Sierra
1990 Wrigley Field Ryne Sandberg
1991 SkyDome Cal Ripken
1992 Jack Murphy Stadium Mark McGwire

Who won the 2010 Home Run Derby?

Big Papi wins 2010 Home Run Derby. BOSTON — David Ortiz spent an entire career swinging for the fences, whether it was batting practice or the actual game. One of the most impressive power displays Big Papi ever put on was on July 12, 2010, when he won the Home Run Derby in Anaheim.

What is the longest home run ever hit in a home run derby?

Juan Soto breaks Derby record with 520-foot home run. His sixth blast of the round traveled a staggering 520 feet, setting a new Home Run Derby record for the longest homer since Statcast went online in 2015.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What is Clemson's baseball record?

Who won the 2008 Home Run Derby?

Justin Morneau of the Minnesota Twins defeated Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers, 5–3, in the final. In the first round, Hamilton set an MLB record for most home runs in one round of a Derby with 28, hitting 13 of them with eight outs.

Where did Chase Utley go to college?

Draft: Drafted by the Los Angeles Dodgers in the 2nd round of the 1997 MLB June Amateur Draft from Polytechnic HS (Long Beach, CA) and the Philadelphia Phillies in the 1st round (15th) of the 2000 MLB June Amateur Draft from University of California, Los Angeles (Los Angeles, CA).

Who won the 2002 Home Run Derby?

Giambi wins 2002 Home Run Derby.

Who won 2020 Home Run Derby?

Pete Alonso of the New York Mets became the third back-to-back Home Run Derby champion, beating No. 6 seed Trey Mancini in the final. Alonso and his blue-and-orange bat went 6 for 6 in a 28-second stretch to give him 23 homers in the final round after Mancini hit 22 in the thin Rocky Mountain air.